Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for September 8th, 2010

We just got back from our trip to Orlando, where there was 8 of us. It was as tiring as it was wonderful! JD loved everything …but that’s for another post.

Joshua’s party on the 14th was a success. I’m not sure how but at the end evertyhing that it was on my mind was tranfered into reality.

I was having a hard time deciding on a theme until the day a friend sent me an email with a link from a party featured at www.casamenteiras.com.br and I fell in love with the sailor theme they had on.

From there I started planning his party. Inspiration came from everywhere, from blogs (like thepartydress.net, thetomkatstudio.com, marthstewart.com) to clothes (the color scheme came from this shirt that I got at Target a while ago) but my main worry was staying on or under my budget. I had to do a lot of things myself, waited until after 4th of July so I could by the things with a reduced price and did a lot of shopping online. I was able to get great deals from stores like Party City to websites like orientaltrading.com.

With theme and color set I started hunting down all the Homegoods, Tj Maxx, Marshall’s and Dollar Tree in my area for everything nautical (thank you to Joyce and Juliana for enduring them). And oh boy…did I find them.

Here is the invitation I designed. I’ve seen the wrap around label all over the blogs and decided to give it a try and I really loved the result!

We decided to have the party at our church instead of our house because it was just too many people to have it in our house in a hot summer day – if you live in NYC and have no central AC you will know what I mean :).

I just loved how all turned out. I had lots of help from my friends and family ( mom and brother that flew in from Brazil were so helpful!!!!!)

The photos were taken by the best photographer I know Pam Rodrigues http://www.facebook.com/#!/pamylaphotos

you’ll see a few bad ones that were taken by me with my old camera   :P

My friend Carol  http://www.facebook.com/#!/walkercarolina?ref=ts  made the cupcakes and the boat shaped cookies. THANK YOU!!!!They were so yummy!!!!!

And now without further ado…. The result:

I used the 3 feet baloons instead  and paper lanterns hanging from the ceiling

One of the walls were covered with paper towel – believe me you couldn’t tell – origami and pinwheels. And it came out better that I ever imagined.

I just loved how it all came together. Thank you so much to everyone that came and were a part of our baby’s 1st year celebration.

Read Full Post »

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,115 other followers